Want Change?

rain-791893_640

I cry out to God to change my circumstances and help me make some sense out of my messes.  I know He can and I know He has.  He is a faithful God who will advise.

God is always available to hear our concerns.  He is a God of comfort and freedom happens when we tell Him everything.  Through words we surrender and show that we trust Him.  This all helps!  But does it change our life?   I don’t think it does.  Or at least it hasn’t for me.

Change happens in my life when I stop talking to God and pay attention to His advice instead.

“The Lord is in His holy Temple.  All the earth—be quiet in His presence.”  Habakkuk 2:20 (ISV)

Our God sits in His holy Temple ready to speak to each and every one of us.  He needs us to come quietly and give ear to what He desires to make known.  We must stay in His presence long enough to ponder what His word says and be attentive during our worship.

“Be still and know (recognize, understand) that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations! I will be exalted in the earth.”   Psalm 46:10(AMP)

My messy life turned for the better when I became conscious that God was speaking to me in my busyness.

Watch your step whenever you visit God’s house, and come more ready to listen than to offer a fool’s sacrifice, since fools never think they’re doing evil. Don’t be impulsive with your mouth nor be in a hurry to talk in God’s presence.  Since God is in heaven and you’re on earth, keep your speech short. Ecclesiastes 5:1-2 (ISV)

When I arrange time to consider God’s plans and purpose for my life I go to places that I hear Him clearly speak to me. 

Where do you go and what do you do when you want to hear from God?

Let me encourage you friend, if you don’t hear God then seek a place where you can.  Start by noticing the places where you feel peace and rest.   What do you like to do?

You see my sweet sisters in Christ, God created all of us with passions and desires.  I believe He wants to meet us in those places that we feel full of life.    He has given each of us interests that cause us to be creative and to take delight in our time with Him.

There are too many examples of this to share here.  But I will share some of mine.   I enjoy reading Christian books, listening to classical and Christian music.  I love sitting by a river or walking in the rain.   One of my favorite hobbies is taking pictures and scrapbooking.   I like to spend most of my time writing.

I hear God the most when I’m doing the things I love to do.

I have learned that I don’t always need to be in church or in a quiet room to hear from God.   Don’t get me wrong, I do hear God in church and in a quiet place.   But I hear Him more when I’m in the garden or rowing a boat across the lake.

I’m realizing that I must be intentional with my time.  I must schedule in those things I love to do with God.   Time well spent doesn’t always have to be a big deal.  I like to drink coffee with God while I close my eyes to seek His way.

God will meet you where you are at.   I know some who hear from God when they are mowing the yard or washing dishes.

How about you?  God is waiting to speak to you in your favorite place doing what you love.

9 thoughts on “Want Change?

  1. This is such good and practical advice. I just got back from four wonderful days in a cabin by a river where I spent all morning on the deck overlooking the river, reading my Bible, journaling, praying and just resting in the beauty of creation. It really did refresh and restore my soul!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Daily Devotions by Lisa Brown – Want Change? | Me Too Moments For Moms

Leave a Reply

