Do You Believe?

 

rainbow-background-1149610_640

There are so many times in my life that I’ve been stuck in a whirlwind of messy emotions and troubles.   In those moments our Heavenly Father would speak to me and say,

 “I can help you only if you would believe in me.” 

And I’d say, 

“Of course I believe in you God and your Son.”

But God needs more from me.  He was talking about my confidence and trust in Him.   In other words He wants me to believe in His ability to care for those things that concern me. 

In the quiet place of my heart God meets me and assures me that I can be certain that He will take care of me. 

In the midst of being tossed and turned He wants me to stand still and look to Him for my help. 

One of my favorite Bible Stories is found in John 4:46-54 where Jesus heals a Nobleman’s Son.

 

46 So Jesus came again to Cana of Galilee, where He had turned the water into wine. And there was a [a]certain royal official whose son was sick in Capernaum. 47 Having heard that Jesus had come back from Judea to Galilee, he [b]went to meet Him and began asking Him to come down and heal his son; for he was at the point of death. 48 Then Jesus said to him, “Unless you [people] see [miraculous] signs and wonders, you [simply] will not believe.” 49 The royal official pleaded with Him, “Sir, do come down [at once] before my child dies!” 50 Jesus said to him, “Go; your son lives!” The man believed what Jesus said to him and started home. 51 As he was already going down [the road], his servants met him and reported that his son was living [and was healthy]. 52 So he asked them at what time he began to get better. They said, “Yesterday during the seventh hour the fever left him.” 53 Then the father realized that it was at that very hour when Jesus had said to him, “Your son lives”; and he and his entire household believed and confidently trusted [in Him as Savior]. 54 This is the second sign (attesting miracle) that Jesus performed [in Cana] after He had come from Judea to Galilee [revealing that He is the Messiah].  John 4:46-54 (AMP)

 

I’m touched by this story because this Dad desperately needed Jesus and he chose Him to save his son.  This Dad was at the end of himself and he heard many things about Jesus.  He could have relied on other sources to help him.  Instead he listened to what was in his heart.  It didn’t matter how absurd it seemed because his convictions overruled. 

What is that something in your life that you are trying to do on your own?   Are you willing to take this matter to God?  

I know it can be scary to let go of it.  

Some things we face feel so overwhelming and we panic.   We think we have to be the one to handle it and make it stop.   The idea of handing it over to God takes courage.   It’s a bit scary because we don’t know for sure how it will pan out. 

The Triumphs of Faith

11 Now faith is the assurance (title deed, confirmation) of things hoped for (divinely guaranteed), and the evidence of things not seen [the conviction of their reality—faith comprehends as fact what cannot be experienced by the physical senses]. Hebrews 11:1 (AMP)

You see my friends, God wants to meet us in His throne room.  The place inside of us that we go to in time of need.  It’s there that He desires to persuade us to find comfort in His ability to handle all problems.  

He wants us to give Him our dark clouds and jar of tear drops so that He can make a rainbow out of it. 

God loves you, He will come through and take care of you.

Just Believe!

2 thoughts on “Do You Believe?

  1. Hi
    Thanks for linking to Word of God Speak. For someone new to Christ the idea of handing things to God does take courage. But after doing it the first time, each time after that becomes easier. Total commitment to Jesus – handing Him it all – that’s hard work but worth it all.
    Blessings
    Janis

    Like

Leave a Reply

