The Holy Spirit Is Our Helper

abstract-977057_640

God is a gracious God and He will not abandon us.  He doesn’t want us to walk through this life without clear direction and purpose.  He gives us His Holy Spirit to help us through every obstacle we face.

Sometimes life feels like one big maze and other times it feels like I’m walking on the straight and narrow road totally focused on God’s plan for my life.   Life has so many ups and downs with bumps in the road.  I’m grateful for God’s Holy Spirit to comfort me through it all.

The Holy Spirit helps me discern how to pray for others.   He reminds me of truth when I’m in doubt.  I go to Him when I have concerns about my loved ones.  He directs my steps and shows me how to handle tough situations.

For those who are living according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh [which gratify the body], but those who are living according to the Spirit, [set their minds on] the things of the Spirit [His will and purpose].   Romans 8:5 (AMP)

God will allow the Holy Spirit to speak to me and confirm His message that’s being delivered to me.  God does this through His word, life circumstances and through others.

My life style must reflect that of a disciplined servant with a mind that is only open to God’s word.

All who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God.  Romans 8:14 NLT

Following are the four things I do to hear from the Holy Spirit.

  1. Wait for message –
  2. Live a prayerful life
  3. Know the scriptures
  4. Seek council from mature Christians

To many times I have made decisions without being still long enough to receive the full message from God.  I’m learning to not get ahead of God.   My life goes so much smoother when I commit to purposeful prayer and Bible study time.  Sometimes I think my decisions make sense to me until I seek the council of those who I consider to be wise followers of Christ.  I’ve carefully selected a few people to speak into my life and pray for me.

But have nothing to do with irreverent folklore and silly myths. On the other hand, discipline yourself for the purpose of godliness [keeping yourself spiritually fit]. For physical training is of some value, but godliness (spiritual training) is of value in everything and in every way, since it holds promise for the present life and for the life to come.  1 Timothy 4:7-8(AMP)

Dear Sisters in Christ, Let’s pay attention to who we listen to.  Today let’s make a plan for Bible Time.  Let’s let God deliver His message to us through direction, clarification and comfort from the Holy Spirit in every area of our life.  Not just some areas.  But all.

He has chosen us to be filled with His Helper the Holy Spirit.   Let’s embrace the fact that our life is so much more meaningful when we put our trust in the one who created us.   We desperately need Him.  His love is everlasting and unconditional.  He is indeed our best friend we will ever have.

Let’s Pray

God thank you for not leaving us in this world to defend for ourselves.  We welcome the Holy Spirit into our lives and to have His way with us.  It’s your love that draws us near to you.  In your presence the Holy Spirit helps us to see things more clearly.  Forgive us for the times we have chosen to do things our own way instead of being still long enough to understand your way.  Thank you for chosen us to be filled with the Helper.   We ask that the Holy Spirit come now to minister to our heart and mind.  In Jesus name – Amen. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

