God Wants To Be Known

 

girl-489110_640

In my personal Bible time and through prayer I sensed God asking me,

“Do you desire to know what I want you to do?” 

Yes God!

“Do you desire to know where I want you to go?”

Yes God of course I do!

“Do you desire to know me?”

What do you mean God?

“Do you know my character?  Do you know my voice? Do you notice how I reveal myself to you?”

God I think so. I thought I did. Why do you ask?

“Because I want you to know me more and experience me!”

I believe that God is making a point here.  God wants more from me in our relationship.   He doesn’t want me to just come to Him because I need Him.

I didn’t realize until now that I been using God.   I spend more time seeking Him to answer my prayers and show me what to do then paying attention to who He is.

He is revealing Himself to me all the time.  He shows me what kind of God He is through my experiences.  He is a forgiving God.  He loves me unconditionally.  He comforts me.   He is slow to anger.

God reveals Himself in my toughest moments.   He is moving me from knowledge of Him to experiencing Him in the fullness of His character.    God is more interested in showing me who He is then helping me reach my destination.

I believe that the more we experience God the more we will trust Him. 

God can do more in our life when we trust Him.   He longs to take us to places, but our doubt keeps us from noticing His invitation.

We can read about God’s character and memorize all of His names.   This doesn’t mean we really know Him.  He wants to get from our head to our heart. 

We find in Job in chapter 42:5(ERV) express his gratitude towards God when he says,

In the past I heard about you, but now I have seen you with my own eyes.”

 

Let’s dig deeper.

  1. Search the names of God and His character on the internet. Pick one or two that mean the most to you.
  2. Think of two characteristics of God that you experienced in the past month.  Take a moment to journal.

Leave a Reply

