I need prayer more than a cup of coffee.  

 

paris-832331_640

Life circumstances drag us down and worry is exhausting.  I used to go to coffee when I felt that I was on empty instead of going to God to fill me up.   A half a pot of coffee was never enough.  After years of consuming too much coffee my body couldn’t handle it anymore.  It made me very sick.  There is nothing in life that can take the place of prayer.

Something wonderful happens in my life when I take the time to pray every day.  I experience passion.  Passion for God’s presence and His word.  I feel empowered by the Holy Spirit.  I see life circumstances in new ways and I respond differently.   Time of prayer is life changing.   And God is healing my body from the damage the coffee did inside of me.

It caused stomach issues. My feet and legs ached so much that I didn’t want to move.  I gained weight and felt sick.  I was depressed.   The enemy had a strong hold on me.  He had me right where he wanted me.  Prayer is dangerous and the enemy is scared when God’s children pray.

Prayer destroys every evil trick that the enemy tries to play in our life.

It took me getting sick before I realized that my life was going downhill. I wasn’t going to God every day.   I’ve been a Christian all of my life and prayer was part of my day to day routine until something had happened in my life that caused me to feel shame.  Overtime God helped me to forgive myself.   I had to make prayer happen and it wasn’t easy getting back into it.

At first I wasn’t passionate or focused.   I needed the Holy Spirit to help me get started and He did!! I asked for a changed heart and He showed me my desperate heart.  I couldn’t fix myself or my life circumstances.  I realized that I needed God’s intervention and prayer was the key to get me back in touch with Him.

And I will give them a heart to know (recognize, understand, and be acquainted with) Me, that I am the Lord; and they will be My people, and I will be their God, for they will return to Me with their whole heart.   Jeremiah 24:7(AMPC)

If you are falling asleep during prayer time or easily distracted, don’t give up.  Keep pushing through.  Fight for your time with God.  There is a spiritual battle going on.  Every time the enemy sees us going to prayer he will try to put a stumbling block in front of us to keep us from going to God.

We must go into a time of prayer with scriptures in our hand, prayer requests written down on paper, and just maybe one cup of coffee.

 

One thought on “I need prayer more than a cup of coffee.  

  1. Pingback: I Need Prayer More Than A Cup Of Coffee. | Me Too Moments For Moms

Leave a Reply

