How Do We Know God Is Leading Us?

 

silhouette-809145_640

God is a gentleman and we can rest assure that He would never intimidate us into making a decision out of fear.  How many times have we said yes to something out of fear?  Fear of the unknown?  Fear of rejection?  Fear of being wrong?  Fear of not making it?

Or how many times have we made a decision because of peer pressure and others expectations?  Or we think we know what we need or want and selfishly we give into our flesh?

It’s all the noise in our heads and all around us that keeps us from knowing God’s way for us to go.

I confess I have made decisions too quick without considering why I decided on what I did.  I’ve made too many messy mistakes because I didn’t think twice about who was influencing my decisions.  There have been times I thought I was doing the right thing and only to find out later that the enemies scheming tricks caught me off guard.

I’m leaning to slow down and not be too quick to make a decision.  Sometimes it feels like God is taking forever to answer our prayers and to show us the path we are to take.   But His timing is not our timing.  When I decided to accept this truth I noticed that I started to relax in my seasons of waiting.  With God there is a time for everything and He doesn’t rush us into something without preparing us.  At least this has been my experience.

God’s timing is perfect because He sees the whole picture!!

There is no hurry to rush into a decision.  I have discovered that if I am rushed into making a decision it wasn’t from God.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens, Ecclesiastes 3:1-7 (NIV)

Waiting builds character and that is the type of God we serve.  He cares about the state of our mind and heart.  He desires to pave the way and bless us!    When I make a decision out of anxiousness it’s because I’m believing some lie or I’m letting circumstances around me dictate what I should do.  When this is going on I have learned to be still.  Don’t do a thing until there is no more anxiousness.

It’s a discipline, willingness, and necessity to know the leading of God.  

This is how we know its God!

-He doesn’t hurry us

-He doesn’t make us fearful or rush us into a decision out of fear or intimidate us.

-He comes along the side of us and encourages us, comforts us, and leads us.

-He doesn’t drive us with intimidation

-God meets us where He takes us and then He will keep calling us to follow Him.

We will follow because we recognize His call.

But he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep [the protector and provider]. The [a]doorkeeper opens [the gate] for this man, and the sheep hear his voice and pay attention to it. And [knowing that they listen] he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out [to pasture]. When he has brought all his own sheep outside, he walks on ahead of them, and the sheep follow him because they know his voice and recognize his call. John 10:2-4(AMP)

Wait on the Lord if you don’t feel confident about a decision.  There is no hurry.

And just so you know my Dear Sisters in Christ, at this very moment I’m sitting on a big decision and it is not easy to stay still.  My wants and fears are so loud that I’m having a hard time hearing God.  I know that I know that I must wait.  There is too much at stake.

So please pray for me today when you have a second.

I’m praying for you all too.

2 thoughts on “How Do We Know God Is Leading Us?

Leave a Reply

