Want To Connect With God?

 

prayer-1308663_640

 

I believe that the things that connect people together are also true with how we connect with God.

We connect with others that have the same interests, ideas, strategies, and vision that we have.  There is typically a strong sense of understanding, compassion, and drive.  We enjoy people who we have something in common with.

People connect because they have similar values, ethics, and code for living.

We call them our friends, partner, mentors and great co-workers.

These connections stay strong when there is respect, honesty, hospitality, and commitment.  A bond happens when there is a high regard to honor, care and stay humble.

A connection in any relationship requires dedication and commitment.  It requires our time and attention.  One must be intentional to keep the line of communication open.

It’s sin and selfishness that ruins a close connection in a group, marriage, organization, and community.  And relationship with God.

Humans have a tendency to disconnect from others out of guilt, shame, anger, bitterness, and fear of rejection.

  When we want to know a person we ask them questions, watch how they live and hang out with them.  This is also how we get to know God.

Perhaps today you might be feeling like God doesn’t want to connect with you. You’re thinking that your sin is too big and ugly for God’s forgiveness.

Here is something you need to know then.

The thing about God is that, He desires you, forgives you, and is ready to connect with you right where you are.  He is o.k. with messy lives.

It’s not God that keeps us from connecting with Him.  It’s self-hatred and pride that keep us from Him.

 Guilt and self-righteousness hold a person captive and makes one a slave to sin.  If one chooses to live a life of disobedience they are choosing their lifestyle over God’s plan.

It’s our choice if we want to connect or not?

There was a season in my life where I let impurity rule me and I didn’t want to pray to God because I felt guilt.  I was selfish.  I knew that if I went to God, He would tell me to stop it.  I didn’t want to.

Until I realized that I needed Him.

Life got super hard for me.  I knew that I had to connect with God through prayer.  But I was too emotionally involved with the drama in my life to give God my full attention.

I needed Christian friends to help me get back up and it was the body of Christ who helped me connect with God.  They prayed with me and for me.

Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart]. The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].  James 5:16(AMPC)

Prayer keeps us connected to God and we are empowered by His Holy Spirit to live a righteous life.  Embracing God’s gift of salvation through Jesus Christ shouldn’t be taken advantage of, but instead appreciated.  We show gratitude for what Christ has done for us by living a clean free life.

Christians we are called to pray fervently for ourselves, family, and our nation.  We can see mountains move in our life when we live a humble life of repentance.

Thankfully God’s grace rescued me.  My passion for prayer is getting stronger every day. I put my faith in a good God.

I stay connected with God by spending time in His word and asking Him to reveal himself to me.  I’m choosing to live a righteous life that is pure and holy.  A life that is acceptable to God.

Let not sin therefore rule as king in your mortal (short-lived, perishable) bodies, to make you yield to its cravings and be subject to its lusts and evil passions.

Do not continue offering or yielding your bodily members [and faculties] to sin as instruments (tools) of wickedness. But offer and yield yourselves to God as though you have been raised from the dead to [perpetual] life, and your bodily members [and faculties] to God, presenting them as implements of righteousness.

For sin shall not [any longer] exert dominion over you, since now you are not under Law [as slaves], but under grace [as subjects of God’s favor and mercy].  Romans 6:12-14 (AMPC)

 

I flee from temptation to keep my heart pure.

I’m a sinner and it’s only by the Blood of Jesus that I have abundance in my life.

As my relationship with God grows deeper so does my relationship with others.  It’s awesome to feel safe enough to be authentic and vulnerable.

You can have this too if you don’t.  Trust God and accept His forgiveness.  He is for you and not against you.  He is our best friend and He wants to live life with us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

