Too Busy For Prayer?

mountains-1264538_640

Calendars quickly fill up with places to go and things to do.  But is prayer on our calendars?  One may ask why do we need to schedule in prayer, can’t we just pray as we feel led throughout the day?   Of course we can.  But prayer is more than just handing our thoughts over to God.

Prayer is literally stopping everything we do and devoting our full attention to God.  It’s carving out time to listen for Him, read His word, and fervently pray for others.  It is during this devotional time that we repent of our sins, give Him our fears and brokenness.

 

From the end of the earth I call to You, when my heart is overwhelmed and weak;
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I [a rock that is too high to reach without Your help].

For You have been a shelter and a refuge for me,
A strong tower against the enemy.

Let me dwell in Your tent forever;
Let me take refuge in the shelter of Your wings. Selah.  Psalm 61:2-4 (AMP)

 

 

Intentional prayer happens in a designated place that we go to daily.  We use scripture during our time of prayer, worship music to set our heavy hearts free, and praise to show gratitude.  It’s the place that we fill up with the presence of the Holy Spirit.

Why is this so darn important to stop and drop everything we have to do for prayer?  I think this is a fair question.

Because Satan doesn’t want us to meet up with God. The enemy knows that he has less power in our lives when we seek God.  Christians who are fully armored with spiritual weapons are dangerous.  Prayer is taking time to go into battle with the Holy Spirit and tear down Satan’s schemes against us.

After prayer time we should feel freedom, confidence, and brave.

There was a time in my life where I was not meeting God every single day.  I was just winging it and letting life happen.  My life got busier and busier.   I was doing great things and serving God.   I thought everything was fine until the burdens of this world pulled me down.  My busy schedule became too much and I felt like a failure because I couldn’t accomplish everything I set out to do.

Somewhere along the line I forgot what grace was all about.  Jesus came into the world to set us free.  You see God desires our hearts more than our good works.   He doesn’t want to take from us.  He wants to give to us and fill us up with the fruit of His spirit.

 

Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart. Psalm 37:4(AMPC)

 

Life changed for me when I started getting up every morning before my family got up.   I erased all unnecessary activities and kept things in my schedule that was God’s will.  When I did this I became more productive with a joyful heart in the things God called me to do.  I live a restful, active, peaceful, and powerful life now.

We must consider why we do what we do in life.  Is guilt driving us to say yes to everyone and everything?  Are we stuck in people pleasing mode?  What are we working so hard for?  Are we trying to impress our neighbors and accumulate expensive things that make us look good?   Are we wasting time on mindless activities?

 

So then, believers, we [who are born again—reborn from above—spiritually transformed, renewed, and set apart for His purpose] are not children of a slave woman [the natural], but of the free woman [the supernatural].  Galatians 4:31(AMP)

 

Every minute of our life matters!!!  Let’s use it wisely.   Don’t let us become slaves to a schedule that keeps us from time alone with God.

Leave a comment