Five Things You Can Do When You Don’t Know What Is Going To Happen Next by Lisa Brown

bridge-1555780_640

I was in shock when the mechanic told me that my car was going to cost more then what it was worth.   I was single at the time and barely making enough money to pay rent.  I had lived pay check to pay check with no savings account.

I called a friend to come pick me up and take me to my apartment.  Reality of my situation sunk in after we said our goodbyes.

I had no idea what I was going to do next.  My heart raced and I panicked as my mind filled up with fears and questions.

I was worried how I was going to get to work?  It took me forty minutes to get across town.  I had to be at work by 7:00 a.m. and I worked until 6:00 p.m.

The job that I had was only three days a week and I was in the process of finding another job to do the other days or in the evenings.

I worried about how I was going to work two jobs with no car or find a full time job nearby?  I loved the job I had and I didn’t want to quit.  I didn’t want to move. I liked where I lived and it was affordable.

I prayed hard and God showed up.  He always does.  He helped me figure out a bus route and get another part time job that was just down the street from the job that I had.

I was challenged and changed by this unexpected situation.

You see, I was put into a new situation that caused me to see more deeply the things in life that I never would have seen if I kept driving a car.  I learned a great deal about people from my daily bus rides.  Through observations and several conversations my heart became more sensitive toward the well-being of others.

The other benefit from riding the bus was that it gave me time to pray, read God’s word and journal.  My travels were restful and I could hear God.

I was able to save some money because riding a bus was cheaper than gas and I had no car insurance to pay for.  My time on the bus lasted 16 months.

In God we can expect that He will provide us with the best.

It is because of the Lord’s loving kindnesses that we are not consumed,
Because His [tender] compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great and beyond measure is Your faithfulness.    Lamentations 3:22-23(AMP)

 It is difficult when one gets let go from a job, or there is an unexpected pay cut, or a work deal is broken, you have to move, or an interview leaves you feeling helpless.   I have experienced all of these things and God has never abandoned me.  Even right now I’m going through something and I know that He has my back.

If you find yourself in a tough situation and you don’t know what is next.  I would like to share with you five things that I have learned to do when I’m faced with the unknown for my future.

Five Things You Can Do

-Get Ready To Sing A New Song.

Get ready to change from the inside out.  Declutter your soul, mind, body and home.  Make room for God to do something new in your life.  Expect life as you know it to change.   Buy some new shoes and get a different hairstyle.    

Sing to Him a new song;
Play skillfully [on the strings] with a loud and joyful sound.   .  Psalm 33:3 (AMP)

-Dream and Hope Big.

Take time to picture yourself doing something you have always wanted to do or be.  Have fun with it.  Think big.  What would life look like if money and time was not an issue?   Write these ideas down and ask God to show you His plan.

-Take Time To Rest.

It’s o.k. to not have all the answers and a plan.  Take some time out to play, dance, sing, travel, and explore.  Have an adventure.  Read a great book, get in shape, hike a trail, visit some friends, or work on your favorite hobby.    Start a new thing that you been wanting to do but you didn’t have the time.   Volunteer somewhere!!!

-Keep head up and look.

Expect to see the bridge that’s waiting for you to cross.  Get ready to hop on the train you hear and see coming down the right track.

-Wait for God to lead.

Don’t be in a hurry to travel down a road when you come to its fork. Wait and watch for a signal from God to move on.  Pay attention to the people that you meet.  God may send others to you but be wise and use discernment.

Everything in life happens for a reason.   And the place between what was to what will be is indeed a priceless time.    It doesn’t feel that way at first.   But in time one will see how that season prepared them for the next.   It least it has for me.

I feel hopeful and confident today even though I’m in the middle of a change and I don’t know what is next.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

